Hello to my wordpress family

20151230_120959

I have so much going on in my life. I don’t have time to sleep sometimes. Well I do really. I just don’t sleep enough.

How are you all? How is life going for everybody? I hope you are all well and happy and healthy.

20151219_155500

Me! I am well. I have had a few hiccups on my journey to happiness. Do you want to hear about them? Probably not! I am a very positive and happy person and I enjoy my job. I am a personal care worker. I work in an aged care facility.

My job entails getting residents out of bed in the morning, taking them to the toilet, and then showering or washing them and getting them dressed. I shave the male residents who cannot shave themselves. Now there is a challenge. Imagine being a female and having to shave a man’s face, especially if you have never shaved somebody before. I am getting better at it, but it can be quite nerve wracking. I prefer to use electric shavers rather than a hand held disposable razor. There is less blood shed that way.

IMG_8080

I love my job. I enjoy the interaction with my residents. We don’t get to spend much time with them apart from their daily routine of getting out of bed and getting dressed for the day. Sometimes you can chat to the resident while you get them ready. It is a hard job as we often come to work to find that a resident has passed away. It’s a part of my job and it’s reality. My residents are not usually going to get well and go home. We are God’s waiting room or heaven’s waiting room and we nurse our residents until they pass on.

There can be sad moments and funny moments. There is a lot of scary moments too. We deal with people with dementia. Sometimes a dementia resident can be violent or angry or frustrated or all three of these emotions. You learn to duck out of the way of punches. You get hit and punched and pinched and scratched. Are you interested in working in Aged Care yet? It really is a rewarding job, apart from the physical and verbal threats.

IMG_7672

I have met some lovely old people, and I have heard some wonderful stories. A lot of my residents lived through the depression in Australia so they hate to hear about wastage of any description. I horrified one of my residents when my shoes got wet while I was showering him. He told me my shoes were getting wet. I said “Oh that’s okay. They only cost me $12.00 from Kmart.” The poor man was incensed. He thought I was very wasteful.

For me the best part of my job is when a resident thanks me for helping them. I feel very humble sometimes. I am being paid to look after them, after all. It is part of my job to help them, however I try to make their lives as comfortable as I can and I always try my hardest to give them a nice start to their day.

IMG_7634

Apart from my work, I have been busy trying to be busy. I find that when I come home from work, I just sit and rest for a while, put my feet up and have a coffee. My work is very physical and I am always exhausted when I get home. After I have sat and had a coffee and watched a bit of television, I try to spend some time on the computer writing my pages for Weekend Notes. I often find a week has gone by and I haven’t written anything. Sigh. I don’t have enough hours in a day.

Oh and there is the dating. I try to fit dating into my life on top of work and my children and grandchildren and parents. I have started to go out and meet men and there is a whole other story in this little adventure. I think that will be my next article. I might call it “meeting the weirdos” or “Cassie’s adventurous dating tales” or some such funny or unfunny title. There are some nice men out there and some weird men and some kind men and oh just all sorts of different men out there.

IMG_4913

Well it is late and I want to go and write a few Weekend Notes pages before I retire to bed. Please drop by and say hello and let me know you are out there following my pages or having a read of them. Cheers from Cassie

 

15 thoughts on “Hello to my wordpress family

    1. Hi LifeCameo. I do love my job, however it can be very hard physically and sometimes it can be very unthankful. I love my residents. I do enjoy interacting with them. It is hard to give them much one on one time though. Thank you for your comment.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Iamabloggertoo. It is a hard job and we don’t get paid enough for what we do. I do get paid for my job. It is not voluntary. It is hard, physical work and sometimes very hard emotionally when you work with a resident and get to know them well and then they pass away. Thank you for reading my blog and commenting.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I just wanted to say before I forget (as I am getting old too these days!). It took me years to work out that I should shave with an electric razor first, as you say to avoid the blood. But then use just water and a small standard twin-blade razor to pick up the little bits I missed with the electric razor. Less blood!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. PS sounds like you do a great job. I hope I find someone like you to care for me when I can’t do it. I suspect it’s awful to be old and needing care. I imagine it would drive me crazy too. Isn’t life marvellous. Thank you so much for being so kind to your oldies. It gives me a little hope.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

