New Years Resolutions 2016

IMG_7820I used to always make New Years Resolutions and never keep them. You know how it is? I will give up alcohol, stop drinking (same thing as giving up alcohol), lose weight, clean my house, etc. etc.

And every year the resolutions would fall by the way side. So I didn’t even make a resolution this year as 2015 gave way to 2016. There has been some problems in my private life which have now led me to re-think things. Now I just want to be happy and healthy and sane. And 2016 is going to be the year that I lose weight and start to feel good about myself, and the year that I stop being bullied by people who claim they love me.

IMG_8080

I have just put up a calendar for 2016. On the first page is the following resolutions that somebody / anybody could try and achieve. I thought I would put it here on my post and then maybe write a bit about each one of those resolutions, what they mean to me, what I would like to achieve. And maybe in a few months time I will revisit this post and see how my life is progressing.

IMG_7315

This year:

A bad habit I am going to break . . . . .

A new skill I’d like to learn . . . . .

A good deed I’m going to do . . . .

A place I’d like to visit . . . . . .

A book I’d like to read . . . . . .

A letter I’d like to write . . . . .

A new dish I’m going to try . . . . .

I’m going to be better at . . . . .

I invite other authors to borrow the resolutions above and write their own posts about what they will achieve / want to achieve in 2016.

IMG_2494

A bad habit I am going to break – Picking my nose, no just joking. I don’t pick my nose. I think the worst habit that I have is being a hoarder. I collect stuff that I don’t need and keep it just in case I need it one day. I see things on the side of the road that other people have discarded and I bring them home. I don’t need these things however that doesn’t stop me picking them up and bringing them home.

A new skill I’d like to learn – I am currently trying to complete a course in Disability so I think that will be my skill I would like to learn. I want to finish the certificate and gain work in this area.

A good deed I’m going to do – I often write web pages about fundraising events that are happening in Geelong. This year I would like to attend some of these events and achieve two goals – as most of the fundraising events are runs or walks, I would like to enter the runs and walks and get fit, and also donate money to whichever charity the event is supporting.

IMG_7622

A place I’d like to visit – New South Wales isn’t a place, it’s a state. I would like to travel slowly across New South Wales and stop and smell the roses, take photos and visit some of the museums, art galleries and wineries at some of the beautiful towns in New South Wales. If you read my post The year that was and the year ahead about my trip across New South Wales, you would see that my quick trip didn’t give me the chance to see any of the tourism spots that my sister and I drove through.

A book I’d like to read – I read a lot. I would like to re-read some books that I have read recently. I often get given books so I don’t really have a favourite author or particular genre that I read. I read anything and everything. I guess I would like to re-read Shades of Grey. I would like to read the Jerilderie Letter by Ned Kelly, and I would like to re-read The true story of the Kelly Gang by Peter Carr.

A letter I’d like to write – I haven’t seen my best friend in years. I would like to visit her and also to write her lots of letters. I also like to write to my granddaughter so I guess I would like to finish writing a letter to Cianna. I often write articles and letters and complete them or send them, so I think as well as writing letters I also need to post them to the person they are being written to.

IMG_8248

A new dish I’m going to try – I usually eat chicken parmigiana when I go out for meals at hotels. I would like to learn how to cook myself a chicken parmi. I also like to eat omelettes so I would like to master cooking a great omelette.

I’m going to be better at – Gosh this one is hard.

I would like to be better at resolving problems without losing my temper.

I would like to have a great relationship with all my children without letting them walk all over me.

I would like to be a better parent, friend, sister, and daughter. I feel that sometimes I am so ensconced in my own personal problems that I don’t listen to others or dedicate myself to them.

Finally I would like to be better at being happy!

I will finish this post now and come back in a few months to let you know how my achievements are progressing.

I do enjoy writing and posting on Word Press and I have met some really wonderful people on here. Thank you all for being my friend, for your kindness and comments.

IMG_4913

 

 

6 thoughts on “New Years Resolutions 2016

    1. Hi Dream 4 fun, I Haven’t had a chance to read your article yet. I don’t have a serious drinking problem. I could stop tomorrow if I wanted. I used to drink to drown my sorrows. Now I try to drink socially. I sometimes find that I will drink if I am stressed or worried or angry about something. Let me read your article and leave a comment over there.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. All of these goal are really great! If you are looking for a new book to read and you like diversity, I highly recommend The Color of Water, by James McBride.The book is simply, but it totally changed my perspective on life. Also, I actively work with a family who has a child with disabilities and I am always amazed at how much I learn from him. People who have disabilities are so pure and bring such a sense a peace to this world. I think that wanting to reach out to a population that you are not familiar with is very admirable.

    Like

    1. Hi Nichole. I will look for that book. I read a lot and I am usually reading two or three novels at once. I am reading Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilber, and Any Woman’s Blues by Erica Jong at present.
      I work in Aged Care. It is a great and rewarding job. I learn so much from my residents and I love to hear their life stories.

      Like

  2. As part of my infinite flexibility drive, I gave up the diet to eat with my family over the weekend. But back on it on Monday (yesterday). I think it’s going to be a slow process but it’s ok to be slow and steady.

    Like

Leave a Reply

