Christmas Day musings, thinking out loud

mxastree2

Hello Word Press world. I have been away from Word Press but not away from the keyboard. I have been busy writing on my other web site called Weekend Notes. Here is a to link to my most recent page Geelong Christmas Extravaganza 2015  – please go over there and read it and leave a comment. I won an award for it so I am a bit rapt in that, winning an award.

So what else have I been up to? I work full time in Aged Care as a personal care worker or personal care assistant. I work 9 days a weekend, I’m classed as permanent part time. There is no such thing as permanent work anymore, well not in Australia. You’re either casual or permanent part time. I prefer to work part time as I earn regular wages, I get paid sick leave and annual leave and I can budget knowing how much I get paid a fortnight.

20151210_083059

So it’s almost Christmas time. How do you all celebrate Christmas? Are you working on Christmas Day or do you have holidays? Do you have time off over Christmas or do you work right through?

In Aged Care we can apply for annual leave and if we are lucky enough to get time off, some of us don’t work over Christmas. Aged Care doesn’t take time off so the facility I work at (and probably every facility in Australia) has carers and nurses at the facility 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

20151210_083053I am working all the way through the week of Christmas, except for Christmas Day as it is one of my rostered days off.

So on Christmas Day I spend the morning at home with my children.  I will have the pleasure of my son and daughter’s company, as well as my 2 year old granddaughter. So Christmas morning will be fun, watching Jazmin opening her presents. She mastered the art of tearing wrapping paper off presents when she turned 2 in November.

So after breakfast we head to my other daughter’s home for lunch. We spend an afternoon of eating and laughing and more presents to be unwrapped by Jazmin. Then at tea time we head to my mum and dads house for tea, more food, more present unwrapping. At tea time and after tea we invite family and friends to join us. It’s nice at Christmas time to make sure that nobody eats alone. It is a big day but lots of fun. We all eat too much and yes sometimes we drink too much.

20151208_152749

I’m pretty sure I am working the next day so I won’t be drinking too much. It is hard to face showers and the rest of the unpleasant side of my job if you have a hangover.

I am enjoying this Christmas period already. Geelong has really turned on the Christmas joy with lots of lights, christmas trees dotted all over central Geelong, projections onto our town hall. Ah Christmas. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to all my new word press friends. Sorry that I have been absent for a few weeks. I will be back real soon.

 

 

Leave a Reply

