The hand that rocks the cradle

I got really carried away with blogging about a week ago, then the pen of inspiration dried up. So here I am, back again.IMG_2756

I have been sleeping well so maybe writing has been a good way to expunge / exfoliate my demons.

So the title! I heard the quote above on a news show and I thought to myself “catchy title”. I could use that.

The hand that rocks the cradle is the hand that rules the world. This is a poem by William Ross Wallace and it’s a poem that praises motherhood, as the preeminent force for change in the world. Ah that it were so easy.

I wish with all my heart that mothers could make a huge difference to the way that politics and war and peace are played out. Even when a mother has her child, and raises them to the best of her ability, the child can still become a good person or a bad person, and nothing a mother says or does can determine how the child will turn out.IMG_2797

Look at Adolf Hitler! Did his childhood and his upbringing mean that he was going to commit mass genocide when he grew up? Somehow I don’t think so. I am sure his mother had the same hopes for her son as all mothers and parents do.

I always hope – for my own children – that they will grow up happy. That they will make something of themselves. That their upbringing has at least had a hand in helping them on the journey from childhood to adult hood.

Thoughts! Opinions! I will get back in to writing soon. So please hang around, the best is yet to come. Hope you are all well and happy and healthy.

IMG_2608

 

 

7 thoughts on “The hand that rocks the cradle

  1. Hi. I have heard of no society in the world that blames mothers for the actions of their child once it has reached, say, puberty. As a father I can say that there is no training course on how to raise a child well, and each child is a unique chance in a lifetime. I think that most children grow up despite their parents best efforts. I agree with your placard except I would change the end to read “never regret anything, and always smile, even in adversity. Thanks for your post!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Thank you for your comment Dream 4 fun. Yes children don’t come with a manual on “Raising children successfully, easily, happily, fulfilling all their dreams. etc” It’s a hard gig being a parent. Children do grow up despite our best efforts, Hopefully they grow up well and healthy and happy because of our efforts. I like that addition to the placard. “Never regret anything, and always smile, even in adversity.”

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hello Camela, sorry for a very late reply on your comment in blogging 101 and I seem not able to reply on there now. I have been busy. I will try to write anything this December. As an answer to your comment regarding how I come up with my name, I just love the word shine…brings positive feeling and I always believe that we all have power within us. I just thought of combining these words shinepositivepower so that it reminds me to continue be a positive influence to others as well as to myself. Thank you very much for taking the time to respond to me, I really appreciate it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. As for motherhood, I agree that most loving parents hopes and dreams for their children to grow up as a decent, kind and loving human being. However, there are other factors that affects children when they grow up aside from genetics, our environment brings a big influence specially those people that surrounds us. I guess in the case of Hitler, his education, his tendency for eccentricity and psychological problem and the environment he was in may have contributed in him being the way he was. As a mother, I really hope that I can do my best to raise my child well despite my imperfection and I hope that he will grow up as someone who fears God and loves his fellowmen. Thank you for this wonderful post. 🙂

    Like

    1. Hi Shine positive. We can only do our best for our children and then hope and pray that they turn out okay, well adjusted, healthy and happy human beings. It is very hard these days to raise children. It is expensive to live. There are lots of outside factors, as you also stated. You don’t want to be over protective but sometimes I know that I wanted to stop my children from associating with someone who I felt was undesirable. As they get older you cannot choose who they see or who they make friends with. It is a constant juggle as a parent to try to be the best parent, not be over protective, not cosset them, be there for them even when you’re tired and out of energy, give advice, and be a good parent in this hard and unstable environment. I have four children and I tried really hard to be the best parent that I could be. I think that I did okay. And I hope that your son will be the best that he can be.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you Carmen for the positive note. I agree as a daughter myself and I have seen the struggle of my mother raising 4 kids, it is not easy especially nowadays. I truly appreciate mothers who have done their best to raise their children well so kudos to you! Please just call me Shine. All the best to you my friend. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

